Hair Blues, or should I say reds?

Hair Blues, or should I say reds? written on 2006-01-05 @ 11:27 a.m.

So, I went to a new hair place and had my hair did - colored, highlighted and cut on Saturday.

I went in asking for dark red underneath with blonde highlights all over. Sat down, selected my red color and she got started on my head.

5, yes FIVE hours(got there at 9:30, left at 2:40) later� she�s done.
*Side note � I had not eaten anything before I went, so I was STARVING

I now am sporting around bright red hair with very little blonde color highlights that fade through enough for her to say she gave me highlights. Well, the picture that we both looked at was a blonde toned highlight all over with red peeking through in areas, with the underneath to be solid red. Well, I think she mixed up the red and blonde, because my hair is right the opposite!

She blow-dried and fixed my hair, while continuously complimenting how great my hair turned out. I never responded. Just sat there thinking �OH MY GOSH� look at how bright, brassy red my hair is!�

I think after her 100th time complimenting my hair and me not saying anything, she got the hint. She said, �You were expecting more blonde, huh?� I was thinking, ummm yeah, this looks nothing like the picture! I did not tell her it like that, but resorted in telling her this in a nice way.

So, we both agreed that I�d leave and live with it a few days to see if maybe the color fades or I decided I liked it. On Tuesday, I called her saying� when can I come in for my blonde highlights. I was still not digging the new color. So, we set up an appointment for this evening.

Today, 5 days later� it has faded some. It�s not as bright, brassy looking and everyone at my work loves it? And honestly I like it a little too. Maybe I�m just use to it now?

Although I�ve gotten �use� to the boldness of the red, I�m going in after work to get the blonde highlights that I originally went to get.

I�m excited, but scared too. I know that red color is hard to match and experiment with. I sure hope that she knows what she�s doing! And I especially hope that it doesn�t take her 5 hours again! I have never, ever sat in a hair place this long!

Oh yeah, and the bonus that I forgot to tell you about. I just about fainted when she told me my total, especially after being disappointed with the color. Umm, my total was $195.00!! One hundred and ninety five dollars!! So, after leaving her a $10.00 tip and $205.00 dollars later, she gets not one cent from me today!

* Another side note � in the stylist defense, she did a really good job with the cut.

Love, Karen

last ~ next

Miss something?
Dreaded day - 2006-08-10
Yip-E - 2006-05-24
T@ylor Hicks - 2006-05-24
Bo Bice - 2006-05-19
Stolen from Zen - 2006-05-16

~ Current ~ ~Photos~ Archives ~ G*Book ~ Profile ~ D*land ~ ~ Notes ~ Design ~